The Gathering is an exciting, fun-filled event with evening performances and Saturday daytime sessions. Poets and musicians from throughout the country grace our intimate stage at the Henry Strater Theatre, performing classic and contemporary poems and songs that will bring tears to your eyes and keep you in stitches.


The Durango Cowboy Gathering, Inc. is a non-profit organization working to preserve and perpetuate the traditions of working ranch people in the American West. We celebrate the lifeways of rural people by creating the "campfire" around which anyone with an interest can come to share in the appreciation of the culture and traditions unique to the West. Monies received support our annual Gathering and youth programs.


Welcome to the 32nd Annual Durango Cowboy Poetry Gathering, a popular annual October event in beautiful Durango, Colorado. The Durango Cowboy Poetry Gathering is a must-attend for thousands each year, as artists and audiences gather to preserve and celebrate the American West with cowboy music, poetry and storytelling.

Durango offers the perfect combination of historical sites, natural attractions, western heritage, a great trail system, and modern amenities. There is always something to enjoy in the historic downtown, the North Main District and in the surrounding beauty of the mountains.

We would like to thank our partnering businesses for choosing the Durango Cowboy Poetry Gathering for your sponsorship. We recognize and appreciate your dedication with helping us to preserve our western heritage. The success of our Gathering is greatly enhanced by those contributions and we encourage everyone to support these businesses.

If you are new to the Gathering, get ready for a great time! Get your boots on, saddle up, and enjoy the ride. We are certain that you will be touched by the American West traditions.

Thank you,
Pam Glasco
Executive Director


    Sam Noble - President
    Bill Lambert - Vice President
    Barbara Richter - Treasurer
    Sherry Colquitt - Summer Secretary
    Pamela Jacobs - Parade Chairman
    Barry Longwell
    Lindy Simmons
    Linda O’dell
    Scott Perez 
    Glen and Sharon Camarca - 1989 Founders